PME Resources

The Adult Learning Model and the Tactical Leader | The Tactical Leader

By The Cove October 8, 2019

Do you know what you don't know? In this article, published by The Tactical LeaderAlan Hastings looks at the Adult Learning Model and the Tactical Leader

The Adult Learning Model articulates four stages of learning:

Level 1 - Unconscious Incompetence – You don’t know what you don’t know.

Level 2 - Conscious Incompetence – You have become aware of what you don’t know.

Level 3 - Conscious Competence – Through study or training, you’ve gained some experience and skill, but it requires focus and energy.

Level 4 - Unconscious Competence – You have developed mastery of a particular skill, such that performing it becomes second nature.

This post is an excellent example of a leader learning something on their own PME journey and then sharing it with others across the wider PME network. It is well worth a read.



The Cove

The home of the Australian Profession of Arms.

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the position of the Australian Army, the Department of Defence or the Australian Government.

Add new comment

Cove App


Fast access to The Cove anywhere, anytime. Additional feature of receiving notifications for new content.

Reflective Journal


Record your reflections in a structured way to improve your performance.